They can take 2 to 4 weeks or longer. Other agencies, including other police departments and the San Diego County sheriff, have different processing times, but most are closer to that of the SDPD, which lasts 2 to 4 weeks. Whether it's a small accident or a major accident, knowing what to do beforehand can help you avoid costly mistakes. If you don't report your car accident, you may not be able to recover damages caused by dents and scratches on your car or by injuries you discover after the fact.
However, California state law imposes criminal penalties if the accident was fatal and no report was filed. We represent people injured by car accidents, dog bites, slips and falls, wrongful death, and other types of injuries caused by the misconduct of others. However, most auto insurance companies require the policyholder to report a car accident to the insurer soon after the fact. If unprepared at the scene, the driver may be legally required to contact the police and report the accident so that an officer can prepare a police report.
Determining if, when and how to report a car accident in California can be difficult, especially if you're dealing with the trauma of experiencing an accident. As for reporting your accident to your auto insurance company, California has no laws that dictate whether or when to report the accident to their auto insurance company. Drivers involved in an accident that caused injury, death, or significant property damage generally have to file a police report immediately after the accident. If you or a loved one has been injured in a California car accident as a result of another driver's negligence, consider contacting the trusted attorneys at Adamson Ahdoot LLP.
Traffic collision reports may be released to authorized individuals, such as victims, victim representatives, or individuals as provided in Section 20012 of the Vehicle Code, by requesting the report online or by mail from the United States. That's why it's always a good idea to file a formal report as soon as possible after a car accident. Drivers who don't file a police report or accident report on time are subject to license suspension. Doing so quickly can ensure that the auto insurance company's appraiser doesn't deny any subsequent insurance claims.
We'll provide you with peace of mind by managing details related to your insurance company, the DMV, auto repairs, medical care, and everything else. There are several different methods by which you can obtain a police report after your California accident.