If the injury was not discovered immediately, 1 year will elapse from the date the injury was discovered. If you believe that an individual is responsible for your injuries, you have two years to file a personal injury lawsuit. If you believe that a government organization (city, county, or state agency) caused your accident, the statute of limitations in California is reduced to six months. California, like most states, has a two-year statute of limitations for personal injury.
This means that you have 2 years from the date of your accident to file a lawsuit. The courts are very strict with this deadline. It starts on the day of your accident and ends 2 years later. You can sue for injuries caused by a car accident within six months of the accident, according to California's statute of limitations.
You have three years to file a property damage lawsuit. However, it is important to note that this time limit applies to lawsuits that are filed after the accident and not after the filing of the insurance claim itself. If you've been injured in an accident, it's important to contact an attorney as soon as possible. If you have a car accident in California and suffer a serious injury, you have a good chance of filing a lawsuit for your injuries.
The statute of limitations in a car accident is 2 years in the state of California to sue for injuries. Second, if your injuries were caused by someone else, you should consult an experienced California personal injury lawyer as soon as possible to protect your legal rights. If you or a loved one has recently been in a car accident and you want to file a personal injury claim, now is the time. A personal injury lawyer can help you win a cash settlement after your injury or property damage.
This evidence includes data such as the medical records of any injuries you had and any medical bills you received for the care of these injuries. Thousands more car accidents occur every day, causing some type of injury or property damage across the state. Personal Injury Accident Lawyer Whether you've been injured due to a car accident, product defect, or another type of personal injury accident, get a legal lawyer. If you have questions about how California's statute of limitations applies to your potential personal injury lawsuit, especially if the deadline has passed or is coming up, it may be time to discuss your situation with an experienced California personal injury lawyer.
The amount of time you have to file a personal injury lawsuit depends on who you believe is responsible for your injuries. The sooner you contact an attorney after an accident, the easier it will be to establish a link between the accident and the injuries it caused, including the victim's premature death. In California, the statute of limitations (the amount of time you have to seek compensation for damages) for most personal injuries is two years from the date of the accident. Tragically, some accident victims die at a later date as a result of the injuries they suffered.
As with anything in life, there are always exceptions, especially when it comes to an injury suffered in a car accident. The statute of limitations for a car accident when it comes to property damage is different from that of a personal injury or wrongful death lawsuit. You need strong evidence and medical documentation that shows that it was the original car accident that caused the injuries.